Onyango thrown out CAF contest

.Mo Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang will battle for award .The trio have been shortlisted for the CAF player of the year honour .Liverpool forward Salah claimed the accolade last season and is favourite again .Gabon forward Aubameyang made the final three for the fifth time in succession

Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango inaction

Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango who was shortlist among ten for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) player of the year award has been dropped. On 5th January 2017, Onyango was voted the 2016 African Player of the year – based in Africa at the CAF Awards held in Nigeria. Onyango helped Sundowns win the PSL title earlier this seasons, before single-handedly secured Uganda’s plane ticket to next year’s Afcon finals.

Forwards Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have again made it the shortlist of the last three players.

It is the second year running the trio have battled it out for the prestigious prize, to be named Africa’s finest player.

Left to right: Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Egypt striker Salah claimed the honour last year and will be favourite again, hoping to become the fourth player to win back-to-back titles after Senegal forward El Hadji Diouf, Cameroon striker Samuel Eto’o and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure.

His only victory came in 2015 when he beat Toure and Ghanaian Andre Ayew to the prize.

The award is voted for by the national team coaches and captains of CAF’s 56 member associations and the winner for 2018 will be announced in Dakar on January 8.

Liverpool team-mate Mane, from Senegal, has been getting closer to the prize after finishing third in the voting in 2016 and second last year.

Gabon forward Aubameyang made the final three for the fifth time in succession, equalling the record set by Toure and former Ghana international midfielder Michael Essien



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × 4 =